Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Pat has read 0 books toward a goal of 100 books.
hide

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Pat (Get Kids to Read) has read 0 books toward his goal of 50 books.
hide

December 18, 2014

Currently reading

I am currently reading In The After Light by Alexandra Bracken 

Frequency of reviews

I am a school librarian full time during the week.  Sometimes my reading time is severely limited.  I look forward to more time to read for two weeks starting after dismissal on Friday.

December 16, 2014

Review: Jackaby


Jackaby
Jackaby by William Ritter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Jackaby by William Ritter.
Young Adult Mystery, Paranormal, Supernatural.
Perfect for fans of Doctor Who, Grimm and Sherlock

Jackaby is the first book in what will hopefully be a series by William Riter. Jackaby is a self described Seer. He can see beyond the veil that disguises supernatural things to everyonee ellse. He meets up with Abagail, who is an independent woman in a difficult time. The book is set in the 1800's, a time when woman were not generally independent and trying to be self sufficient. Abagail is on her own journey to find adventure when she meets Jackaby.
There have been a series of murders in the New England town this books is set. Jackaby, much like Sherlock, inserts himself into the investigation. He is convinced something supernatural is behind it.
Jackaby is extremely intelligent like Sherlock Holmes but not quite as condecending. He seems to know how to dial it back and tell people they are wrong in a softer way than Holmes can.
Many reviews are comparing this to Doctor Who meets Sherlock and there are elements of both in this book. Jackaby has a whymsicalness that reminds me of Matt Smith's 11th Doctor. He also has a scarf much like Tom Baker's 4th Doctor. But this book entirely stands on its own. Anyone who enjoys a good mystery with some fantasy supernatural elements thrown in for good measure will enjoy this. This is definitely one of the top 5 best YA books to come out in 2014!



View all my reviews

December 4, 2014

Friday is my reading day.

On Friday I will be spending time day reading Jackaby by William Rhitter.  I hope to have my review up sometime this weekend.  
Upcoming Reviews include
Joe College

The next book on my to read list is In the After Light Book III of The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.  
If you would like to suggest a title please add it to the comment.  
Please follow me on Twitter @PJTMLIS and like the facebook page www.facebook.com/getkidstoread 

Review: The Snatchabook


The Snatchabook
The Snatchabook by Helen Docherty

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Snatchabook is the perfect picture book that illustrates the love of books. The woodland creatures love hearing stories at night and listening intently to each word read. But one day a new creature called a snatchabook steals the stories from all the animals. Can the snatchabook be convinced to give the books back? You will need to read the book to find out.
Snatchabook is excellent and a rhyming book that is sure to be popular with book loving parents hoping to share their love of reading with their young children.



View all my reviews

December 3, 2014

Tomorow is Picture Book Thursday

Thursday's ReviewThe Snatchabook

Review: Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris


Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris
Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris by R.L. LaFevers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris
by RL LaFevers
Houghton Miflin 2008
Middle Grade Sequel, Great Middle Grade

Theososia is a girl Indiana Jones on her second adventure. When Theo discovers a mysterious staff that has the power to draw the dead back to life, it's up to Theo to keep it out of the wrong hands. Theo will have more to deal with this time than just the Serpents of Chaos. This time her Grandmother is working hard to find her a governess that will mold Theo to being a normal early 1900's young lady. In addition to new challenges Theo will find new allies in this second volume of the Theodosia series.
The Theo series is very well done. It has magic and adventure. It truly is a good pick for fans of Harry Potter, but this is not a Harry clone. Theo is not going to a school for magic. While she may learn some Egyptian spells to get rid of curses, this is only part of what she does. Fans of series that incorporate ancient cultures like Percy Jackson will like this series. This is a good pick for fans of The Egypt Game.



View all my reviews

Chapter book Wednesday

Look for a chapter book review later today.

December 2, 2014

Review: Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page


Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page
Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page by Cynthia Rylant

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Mr. Putter & Tabby Turn the Page
Cynthia Rylant and Arthur Howard
Houghton Mifflin 2014 New York

Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page is the perfect early reader for children who love to read. There are only a few sentences on each page. This edition and this series is written at a level perfect for children in first grade or those reading above level in Kindergarten. The Mr. Putter series is popular and should be in every library.



View all my reviews

Early Reader Tuesday

Look for an early reader review later today.

December 1, 2014

Awesome quote from Jackaby

Currently reading

Jackaby  by by William Rhitter.  It is basically Wholock!